16 (in the flesh)

September 9, 2010

This is me.

It’s a picture from about five years ago, back when i was trying to do nude modeling fairly often. I’ve cropped off my head, because, even though i am very comfortable with my body, i’m not so cool with my face being attached to it for everybody out there to see (at least, not in this venue).

I think this is probably one of my favorite pictures of myself. It’s definitely one that i consider to be sexy, and since i rarely see myself that way, that’s a big deal to me. I’m honestly not a fan of male nudity in most media. I think i’ve mentioned it before, but my main problem with it is that naked men are usually depicted as silly, vulnerable or some kind of caricature of homosexuality. I’ve often wondered why we can’t just depict men as beautiful in their own right?

The ancient Greeks, especially during the Hellenistic era and the artistic time period right after that, the name of which escapes me, viewed the nude male form as the pinnacle of beauty, and many MANY sculptures were created to reflect that. That time period was in my mind when i modeled for this picture and, when i’ve modeled for any picture. I’ve always wanted to exude a type of grace that was particularly masculine. I’d like to think that i’ve achieved it here.

Leave a Reply

